Juan Kouyoumdjian

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina in July 1971 the Franco- Argentine’s passion for sailing inspired him to study naval architecture. At the age of 22 he graduated from Southampton University with a degree in Yacht and Small Craft Design.
His professional career starts immediately after leaving university in 1993, year in which he receives an offer to participate in his first America’s Cup with the French Challenger Le Défi in 1995. He continues with Le Défi on the 30th America’s Cup and in 2000 he moves from France to Italy to join the Prada design team. For the 32nd edition held in Valencia he was part of BMW Oracle Racing’s design team. Juan was Principal Designer with Artemis Racing Team for the 34th America’s Cup in 2013. In the last America’s Cup in 2017 in Bermuda Juan was part of Team France Groupama on his sixth America’s Cup design involvement.

In 1997 he setup his own company, Juan Yacht Design. Based in Valencia and composed of a multicultural team specialized in the design of high performance racing yachts. Completed projects include: Pindar, Star Class, Speedboat, Rambler 88, TP52s... To date his greatest success is the design of the winning boats in three successive editions of the Volvo Ocean Race: ABN AMRO ONE (2005-06), ERICSSON 4 (2008-09) and GROUPAMA 4 (2011-12). Recently, his new Olympic Finn design, the D- Fantastica, took the top 9 places at the world championship and won Gold at the Rio Olympics. Since 2016 Juan and his team are involved with Nautor’s Swan in the design of all the ClubSwan’s boats : the ClubSwan50 (26 boats sold), the ClubSwan36 (in production), a custom ClubSwan125 (in production) and 2 new IMOCA Open60s for the next edition of the Vendée Globe.

Juan has been a sailor all his life. He grew up on the “optimist” circuit, moved into different classes, the 470, the Lightning and then onto the Star class participating in 8 World Championships including a 13th place in 2010. He experienced success at various higher levels such as Lightning World Championship (2nd place), The Commodore’s Cup (1st place), One Ton Cup (1st place) and the Melges 24 World Championship. He has been nominated 3 times for sailor of the month by the prestigious Seahorse magazine for which he was awarded twice by vote of their readers and members.

Juan is member of the New York Yacht Club [NYYC] as well as the Royal Thames Yacht Club [RTYC] and the Argentinian Yacht Club [YCA].

His main achievements are:

  • Volvo Ocean Race
  • 2005-2006 Edition: Winner with ABN-AMRO ONE 2008-2009 Edition: Winner with Ericsson 4 2011-2012 Edition: Winner with Groupama 4
  • Monohull 24-hour Speed Record held from 2005 to 2015 by ABN-AMRO TWO first and then by Ericsson 4.
  • Olympic Gold Medals
  • 2008 Beijing in Star Class
  • 2016 Rio in Finn Class
  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race
  • 2016 Perpetual LOYAL: Line-honours & Race Record 2016 VO70 Giacomo: Overall race winner
  • Rolex Middle Sea Race
  • 2015 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • 2016 Rambler 88: Line-honours 2017 Rambler 88: Line-honours 2018 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • Rolex Giraglia
  • 2018 ClubSwan 50 Skorpios: Winner ORC Class
  • Palermo-Montecarlo Race
  • 2018 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • 2016 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • RORC Caribbean 600
  • 2018 Rambler 88: Line-honours with Race Record & IRC winner 2017 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • 2015 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • 2011 Rambler 100: Line-honours with Race Record & IRC
  • winner Rolex Fastnet Race
  • 2017 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • Newport Bermuda Race
  • 2018 Rambler 88: Line-honours
  • Volvo Round Ireland Race
  • 2016 Rambler 88: Line-honours with Race Record & IRC winner
  • ARC
  • 2016 Rambler 88: Line-honours with Race Record & IRC winner
  • Transatlantic Race
  • 2011 Rambler 100: Line-honours
  • 2011 VO70 PUMA Mar Mostro: IRC winner
  • Sevenstar Round Britain and Ireland Race
  • 2010 VO70 Groupama 70: Line-honours & Race Record
  • Round St. Maarten Race – St. Maarten Heineken Regatta
  • 2017 VO70 SFS II: Line-honours with Race Record &
  • Division winner
  • J.P. Morgan Asset Management Round the Island Race 2011 TP52 Team Origin: Line-honour